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ARTICLE I. IN GENERAL

Sec. 6.1 Obedience to orders at scene of fire; arrest of offenders; interfering with firemen

(a) Every person present at the scene of a fire shall be subject and obedient to the
orders of firemen and police officers in any matter relating to extinguishing the fire, removal and
protection of persons and property endangered by fire, smoke or water, freedom of fire
department and medical personnel and apparatus to perform their duties or to function properly,
and the maintenance of order at or near the scene of the fire, and it shall be unlawful for any
person to disobey any lawful order of a fireman or police officer. Firemen and police officers
shall have the authority to arrest persons who disobey such orders and to hole them in custody
until the fire has been extinguished, at which time the violators shall be dealt with according to
law.

(b)  Any person who violates subsection (a) shall be fined not more than $100.00.
(Code 1975, Sec 5-1)

State law reference — Penalty for disobeying officer in command at fire, Code of
Virginia, Sec 27-19)

Sec. 6-2 Bonfires and outdoor rubbish fires, etc. — Generally

(a) No personal shall kindle or maintain any bonfire or outdoor rubbish fire or
authorize any such fire to be kindled or maintained without proper authorization of the chief of
the fire department. The chief of the fire department may issue a general authorization subject to
such restrictions as he may deem necessary for the protection of persons and property, or he may
require special permits for such purposes. During construction or demolition of buildings or
structure no waste materials or rubbish shall be disposed of by burning on the premises or in the
immediate vicinity without having obtained a permit or other proper authorization.

(b) No person shall kindle or maintain any bonfire or rubbish fire or authorize any
such fire to be kindled or maintained on any private land unless:

(1) The location is not less than 50 feet from any structure and adequate provision is
made to prevent fire from spreading to within 50 feet of any structure; or

(2) The fire is contained in a waste burner of a type approved by the chief of the fire
department and is located safely not less than 15 feet from any structure.

(c) Bonfires and rubbish fires shall be constantly attended by a competent person

until they are extinguished. This person shall have a garden hose connected to the water supply,
or other fire extinguishing equipment readily available for use.
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(d) The chief of the fire department may prohibit any or all bonfires and outdoor
rubbish fires when atmospheric conditions or local circumstances make such fires hazardous.
(Code 1975, Sec 5-2)

Cross references — Buildings, ch.4; refuse and weeds, ch. 16

State law reference — Regulating the burning of woods, brush, etc., Code of Virginia,
§10.1-1142

Sec. 6-3. Same — Permit required for fires off one’s own property.

It shall be unlawful for any person to kindle or cause to be kindled any fire on any street,
sidewalk or open lot, other than on his own property, without the permission of the chief of the
fire department.

(Code 1975 §5-3)
Cross reference — Streets, sidewalks and public places, Ch. 17.

Sec. 6-4. Carelessly damaging property by fire.

If any person shall careless, negligently or intentionally set any woods or marshes on fire,
or shall set fire to any stubble, brush, straw, or any other substance capable of spreading fire on
lands, whereby the property of another is damaged or jeopardized, he shall be guilty of a class 4
misdemeanor and shall be liable for the full amount of all expenses incurred in fighting the fire.
(Code 1975 Sec.5-4)

State law references — Similar provision, code of Virginia, §18.2-88; regulating the
burning of woods, brush, etc, Code of Virginia, §10.1-1142.

Seec. 6-5. Burning of leaves originating on premises of private residences.

Leaves originating on the premises of private residences may be burned on those
premises, providing that:

(1) Such burning is done between 9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. and all embers are totally
extinguished at the end of this period.

(2) No material will be added to the fire between 3:00 p.m. and 9:00 a.m.

(3) The location of burning is not less than 100 feet from any occupied building unless
the occupant has given prior written permission.

(4) To minimize the possibility of contaminant emission from inadvertent fires, at no time
shall the fire be unattended.

(5) The burning of leaves permitted under this section shall not be commenced, and shall
be immediately terminated, upon declaration of an alert warning or emergency stage
of the air pollution episode when proclaimed by either the executive director of the
state air pollution control board or his designated representative.

(Code 1975,§5-5)
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State law references — Air pollution control board, Code of Virginia, §10.1-1300 et seq;
executive director, Code of Virginia, §10.1-1303; local ordinances, Code of Virginia, §10.1-
1321.

Sec. 6-6. Storage or display in roof-over malls.

No combustible goods, merchandise, or decorations shall be displayed or stored in a roof-
over mall unless approved by the chief of the fire department.
(Code 1975, §5-6)

Sec. 6-7. Open flames, lights or kindling of fire restricted.

(a) No person shall take an open flame of light into any building, barn, boat or any
other place where highly flammable, combustible or explosive material is kept, unless such light
or flame shall be well secured in a glass globe, wire mesh cage or similar device of a type
approved by the chief of the fire department.

(b)  No heating or lighting apparatus or equipment capable of igniting flammable
material of the type stored or handled shall be used in the storage area of any warehouse storing
rags, excelsior, hair or other highly flammable or combustible material; nor in the work area of
any shop or factory used for the manufacture, repair or renovating of mattresses or bedding; nor
in the work areas of any establishment used for the upholstering of furniture.

(c) No person shall kindle a fire upon the land of another without permission f the
owner thereof or his agent.

(Code 1975, § 5-7)
Sec. 6-8. Maintenance of chimneys, vents, heat-producing appliances and exhaust systems.

(a) Chimneys, flues or similar devices for conveying products of combustion or hot
gases to the exterior of the building shall be maintained in such a manner as not to create a
hazardous condition.

(1) Existing masonry chimneys which upon inspection are found to be without flue
liner and with open mortar joints which will permit smoke or gases to be
discharged into the building, or which are cracked as to be dangerous, shall be
made safe by means of fire clay liner, firebrick, a corrosion resistant metal pipe
and otherwise repaired if necessary, or the chimney shall be removed. Metal pipe
liners shall be one inch less in diameter than the least dimension of the flue, and
the entire space between the metal liner and the walls of the chimney shall be
filled with cement mortar.

(2) Existing chimneys and vents of metal which are corroded or improperly supported
shall be replaced, unless suitable repairs are made.
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(3) Existing chimney and vent connectors of metal which are corroded or improperly
supported shall be replaced.

(b) All heat-producing appliances, including boilers, furnaces, incinerators, ovens,
and restaurant type cooking appliances shall be installed and maintained in an approved manner.

(c) Exhaust systems provided for restaurant cooking equipment shall be maintained
in such a manner as not to create a hazardous condition, and shall be inspected or tested as
follows:

(1) Hoods, grease removal devices, fans, ducts and other devices shall be inspected
periodically and cleaned as needed to remove grease and deposits of residues.

(2) Fire extinguishing systems shall be inspected periodically and checked for proper
operation. These inspections shall include a check that the supply of
extinguishing agent in the system is adequate, and all actuation components are
operating satisfactorily. Fusible links, if employed, shall be replaced or properly
cleaned. Instructions for manually operating the system shall be posted
conspicuously in the kitchen and employees checked for their knowledge of
procedures.

(3) Any fire dampers shall be tested periodically to insure proper functioning of all
parts.

(d) Commercial, industrial and flue-fed incinerators shall be provided with approved
spark arrestors or other effective means for arresting sparks and fly ash.
{Code 1975, §5-8)

Sec. 6-9. Handling readily combustible materials.

No persona making, using, storing or having in charge, or under his control any shavings,
excelsior, rubbish, sacks, bags, litter, hay, straw, or combustible waste materials shall fail or
neglect at the close of each day to cause all such material which is not compactly baled and
stacked in an orderly manner to be removed from the building or stored in suitable vaults or in
metal or metal lined, covered, receptacles or bins. The chief of the fire department shall require
suitable baling presses to be installed in stores, apartment buildings, factories and similar places
where accumulations of paper and waste materials are not removed at least every second day.
(Code 1975, § 5-9)

Sec. 6-10. Storage of readily combustible materials.
(a) No person shall store in any building or upon any premises in excess of 2,500
cubic feet gross volume of combustible empty packing cases, boxes, barrels or similar

containers, or rubber tires, or baled cotton, rubber or cork, or other similarly combustible
material without a permit.
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(b) Storage in buildings shall be orderly, shall not be within two feet of the ceiling,
shall be separated from heaters or heating devices by distance or shielding so that ignition cannot
occur, and not so located as to endanger exit from the building. Storage in the open shall not be
more than 20 feet in height, shall be so located, with respect to adjacent buildings, as not to
constitute a hazard, and shall be compact and orderly.

(Code 1975, § 5-10)

Sec. 6-11. Flammable decorative materials in buildings of mercantile and institutional
occupancy.

Highly flammable materials such as cotton batting, straw, dry vines, leaves, trees,
artificial flowers or shrubbery and foam plastic materials shall not be used for decorative
purposes in show windows or other parts of mercantile and institutional occupancies unless first
rendered flameproof. Electric light bulbs in mercantile and institutional occupancies shall not
be decorated with paper or other combustible materials unless such materials shall first have
been rendered flameproof.

(Code 1975, §5-11)

Sec, 6-12. Accumulations of waste materials.

Roofs, courts, yards, vacant lots and open spaces shall be kept free and clear of deposits
or accumulations of waste paper, hay, grass, straw, weeds, litter or combustible waste or rubbish
of any king. All weeds, grass, vines or other growth, when same endangers property, or is liable
to be fired, shall be cut down and removed by the owner or occupant of the property.

(Code 1975, § 5-12

Sec. 6-13. Hot ashes and other dangerous materials.

No person shall deposit hot ashes or cinders, or smouldering coals, or greasy or oily
substances liable to spontaneous ignition, into any combustible receptacle, or place the same
within ten feet of any combustible materials, except in metal or other noncombustible
receptacles. Such receptacles, unless resting on a noncombustible floor or on the ground outside
the building, shall be place on noncombustible stands, and in every case shall be kept at least two
feet away from any combustible wall or partition or exterior window opening.

(Code 1975, § 5-13)

Sec. 6-14. Use of torches for removing paint and sweating pipe joints.

(a) Any person using a torch or other flame-producing device for removing paint
from any building or structure shall provide one fire extinguisher of a type approved by the chief
of the fire department or water hose connected to a water supply in the area where such burning
is done. In all cases, a fire watcher shall remain on the premises for one hour after the torch or
flame-producing device has been used.
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(b)  Any person using a torch or other flame-producing device for sweating pipe joints
in any building or structure shall have available in the immediate vicinity where the sweating is
done one fire extinguisher of a type so approved or water hose connected to a water supply.
Combustible material in the close proximity of flame shall be protected against ignition by
shielding, wetting or other approved means. In all cases, a fire watcher shall remain in the
vicinity of the sweating operation for one-half hour after the torch or flame-producing device has
been used.

(Code 1975 § 5-14)

Sec. 6-15. Smoking prohibited under certain conditions.

(a) Smoking shall mean and include the carrying of lighted pipe, cigar, cigarette,
tobacco or other smokable substance in any form.

(b) Where conditions are such as to make smoking a hazard in any areas of
warehouses, stores, industrial plants, institutions, places of assembly, and in open spaces where
combustible materials are stored or handled, the chief of the fire department is empowered and
authorized to order the owner or occupant, in writing, to post No Smoking sings in each building,
structure, room or place in which smoking shall be prohibited. The chief of the fire department
shall designate specific safe locations, if necessary, in any building, structure or place in which
smoking may be permitted.

(c) No smoking signs of approved sized lettering and location required in accordance
with subsection (b) of this section shall read “by order of the fire chief”.

(d) It shall be unlawful for any person to remove any legally required “No Smoking”
sign or to smoke in any place where such signs are posted.
(Code 1975 § 5-15)

State law references — Smoking in workrooms of food-producing establishments, Code
of Virginia, §3.1-379; designation of smoking or nonsmoking areas by certain employers, Code
of Virginia, §15.1-29.19.

Sec. 6-17 — 6-40. Reserved.

ARTICLE II. FIREWORKS

Sec. 6-41. Permits for display of fireworks, sale of fireworks to permit holders

Upon application in writing, the town council may issue a permit for the display of
fireworks by fair associations, amusement parks or by any organization or group of individuals,
under such terms and conditions as the council may prescribe. After such permit has been
issued, sales of fireworks may be made for use under such permit, and the association,
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organization or group to which it is issued may make use of such fireworks under the terms and
conditions of such permit.
(Code 1975§ 5-17)

State law reference-Similar provision, Code of Virginia, §59.1-144.

Sec. 6-42. Exemptions generally.

This article shall have no application to any officer or member of the armed forces of this
state, or of the United States, while acting within the scope of his authority and duties as such,
nor to any offer of sale or sale of fireworks to any authorized agent of such armed forces; nor
shall it be applicable to the sale or use of materials or equipment otherwise prohibited by this
article, when such material or equipment is used or to be used by any person for signaling or
other emergency use in the operation of any boat, railroad train or other vehicle for the
transportation of persons or property.

(Code 1975 § 5-18)
State law reference-Similar provisions, Code of Virginia, § 59.1-146.
State law reference-Fireworks, Code of Virginia, § 59.1-142 et seq.

Sec. 6-42. Use of certain fireworks on private property.

This article shall not apply to sparklers, fountains, Pharaoh’s serpents, caps for pistols, or
to pinwheels commonly known as whirligigs or spinning jennies, when used, ignited or exploded
on private property with the consent of the owner of such property.

(Code 1975, § 5-19)
State law reference-Similar provisions, Code of Virginia, § 59.1-147.

Sec. 6-44. When manufacture, transportation, sale, etc., of fireworks unlawful.

(a) Except as otherwise provided in Code of Virginia, title 59.1, Chapter 11 (§59.1-
142 et seq.) it shall be unlawful for any person to transport, manufacture, store, sell, offer for
sale, expose for sale, or to buy, use, ignite or explode any firecracker, torpedo, skyrocket, or
other substance of thing, of whatever form or construction, that contains any explosive or
inflammable compound or substance, and is intended, or commonly known, as fireworks and
which explodes, rises into the air or travels laterally, or fires projectiles into the air, other than
sparks or those fireworks excepted under the provisions of Code of Virginia, § 59.1-147(a).

(b) Unless prohibited pursuant to Code of Virginia, § 59.1-148, the provisions of
subsection (a) of this section shall not be applicable to any person who manufactures, stores,
markets and distributes fireworks for the sole purpose of fireworks displays permitted under
Code of Virginia§ 59.1-144, or the laws of other states.

(Code 1975, § 5-20)
State law reference-Similar provision, Code of Virginia, § 59.1-142.
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Sec. 6-45. Disposition of seized fireworks.

Any law enforcement officer arresting any person for a violation of this article shall seize
any article mentioned in section 6-44 in the possession or under the control of the person so
arrested and shall hold the same until final disposition of any criminal proceedings against such
person. If a judgment of conviction is entered against such person, the court shall order the
destruction of such articles upon expiration of the time allowed for appeal of such judgment of
conviction.

(Code 1975, § 5-21)
State law reference-Similar provisions, Code of Virginia, § 59.1-143.

Secs. 6-46 — 6-60. Reserved.

ARTICLE III. FIRE PREVENTION CODE

Sec. 6-61. Adopted: purpose; where filed; applicability; short title.

The Town hereby adopts the Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code which is hereby
adopted and incorporated in this Chapter by reference and made applicable to the Town. Such
provisions and requirements are hereby adopted, mutatis mutandis, and made a part of this
Chapter as fully as thought it was set forth at length here. It shall be unlawful for any person
within the Town to violate any provision of this Fire Prevention Code. All future amendments to
the Statewide Fire Prevention Code are incorporated herein in a like manner at the time the
Statewide Fire Prevention Code is updated or changed. The specific intent of this Ordinance is
to incorporate future amendments of the Statewide Fire Prevention Code into this Ordinance at
the time they become effective statewide.

A copy of the Statewide Fire Prevention Code is now and shall remain on file in the
office of the Town Clerk and shall be available to the Public for inspection and use during all

regular business hours.
(Ord. 6/3/2004)

Sec. 6-62. Definitions

(a) Wherever in the fire prevention code or elsewhere in this article the term “chief of
the fire department” or “fire chief” appears it shall be construed to mean the chief of the fire
department of this town, or such other person who may be exercising any of the powers and
performing any of the duties of the chief of the fire department pursuant to an agreement entered
into under the provisions of Section 6-16, or both such persons, as the case may be.
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(b) Wherever in the fire prevention code the word “municipality” appears it shall be
construed to mean the Town of Stephens City and the unincorporated area surrounding the town
which is within one mile of the town limits.

(Code 1975, § 5-24)
Cross reference-Definitions and rules of construction generally, § 1-2.

Sec. 6-63. Permits, inspections and fees.

(a) The town council may establish and from time to time amend a schedule of fees
to be paid for permits, certificates and inspection required by the fire prevention code. Any
schedule so established shall be maintained on file in the office of the town clerk and a true copy
thereof shall also be maintained on file in the offices of the chief of the fire department and the
town treasurer. When any such schedule has been so adopted the fees therein provided shall be
payable to the town treasurer prior to the issuance of the applicable permits and certificates or
making the applicable inspections.

Cross reference-Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code adopted, § 4-1.

State law references-Regulation of the keeping of gunpowder and other combustibles,
Code of Virginia, § 15.1-14; municipal fire prevention regulations, Code of Virginia, § 15.1-15;
Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code Act, Code of Virginia, § 27.94 et seq.; explosives, Code
of Virginia, § 59.1-137 et seq.

(b) Permits issued pursuant fo the fire prevention code shall be valid for the period of
time stated in each such permit, but not for more than one year; provided, that in any case in
which an annual town license is required in addition to such permit hereunder, the permit may be
written so as to be valid for an indefinite period.

(Code 1975, § 5-25)

Sec. 6-64. Modifications.

The chief of the fire department shall have power to modify any of the provisions of the
fire prevention code upon application in writing by the owner or lessee of any property affected
thereby, or his duly authorized agent, when there are practical difficulties in the way of carrying
out the strict letter of the code; provided that the spirit of the code shall be observed, public
safety secured, and substantial justice done. The particulars of such modification when granted
or allowed and the decision of the chief of the fire department thereon shall be entered upon the
records of the department and a signed copy shall be furnished the applicant.

(Code 1975, § 5-29)

Sec. 6-65. Appeals.
Whenever the chief of the fire department shall disapprove an application or refuse to
grant a permit applied for, or when it is claimed that the provisions of the fire prevention code do

not apply or that the true intent and meaning of the code have been misconstrued or wrongly
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interpreted, the applicant may appeal from the decision of the chief of the fire department to the
local board of appeals as provided in the fire prevention code.
(Code 1975, § 5-30)

State law reference-Appeals from decisions of local enforcing agencies, Code of
Virginia, § 27-98.

Sec. 6-66. Conflicts.

In any instance where in a provision of the fire prevention code is in conflict or
incompatible with an applicable provision of federal or state law, the more stringent provision
shall prevail, unless otherwise provided by such federal or state law.

(Code 1975, § 5-31)

Sec. 6-67. Violations and penalties.

(a) Any person who shall violate any of the provisions of the fire prevention code or
fail to comply therewith, or who shall violate or fail to comply with any order made thereunder,
or who shall build in violation of any detailed statement of specifications or plans submitted and
approved thereunder, or any certificate or permit issued thereunder, and from which no appeal
has been taken, or who shall fail to comply with such an order as affirmed or modified by the
town council or by court of competent jurisdiction within the time fixed therein shall be guilty of
a class 1 misdemeanor. The imposition of one penalty for any violation shall not excuse the
violation or permit it to continue; and all such persons shall be required to correct or remedy
such violations or defects within a reasonable time; and when not otherwise specified, each ten
days that prohibited conditions are maintained shall constitute a separate offense.

(b) The application of the above penalty shall not be held to prevent the enforced

removal of prohibited conditions.
State law reference-Violations of fire prevention code, Code of Virginia, § 27-100.

Secs. 6-68 — 6-85. Reserved
ARTICLE IV. FIRE DEPARTMENT
Sec. 6-86. Volunteer fire department designated fire department of the Town; Line of Duty
Act.
(a) The Stephens City volunteer fire department, heretofore established pursuant to
the applicable provisions of Code of Virginia, title 27, chapter 2, (§ 27-6.1 et seq.), as such

department exists on the effective date of this Code, shall continue to be the fire department of
the town.
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(b) The town fire department is hereby recognized as an integral part of the official
safety program of the town within the purview of Code of Virginia, § 15.1-136.2
(Code 1975, § 5-33)

Cross reference-rescue squads recognized, § 2-11.

State law references-Line of Duty Act, Code of Virginia, § 15.1-136.1 et seq.;
organization of fire company, Code of Virginia § 27-9.

Sec. 6-87. Composition and property.

(a) The fire department shall have such personannel (regular, volunteer, or both), as
may from time to time be authorized by the town council. There shall be a chief of the fire
department, not more than two assistant chiefs, and such other ranks and grades as may be
specified by the town council.

(b) The town may provide at least one suitable structure for housing the apparatus
and equipment of the fire department, which shall be and remain the property of the town.
(Code 1975, § 5-34)

State law reference-Number of persons in fire company, Code of Virginia, §27-8.

Cross reference-Administration, ch. 2

State law references-Municipal gifts, donations and payments to voluntary fire-fighting
organizations and rescue squads, Code of Virginia, §§ 15.1-25, 15.1-26; fire departments and fire
companies, Code of Virginia, §27-6.1 et seq.; ordinances as to fire departments, etc., Code of
Virginia, §27-14.

Sec. 6-88. Appointment of Fire Chief, Fire Marshall, assistant chiefs, and other officers
and grades

(a) The chief and assistant chiefs of the fire department shall be appointed by the
Town Council. When a vacancy is to be filled in any such office, the mayor and an appropriate
committee of the Town Council, designated by the Council, shall confer with a nominating
committee consisting of three incumbent ranking officers of the fire department and not more
than three other members of the department chosen by its membership. The Mayor and Council
Committee shall then report to the Town council any nomination or nominations, and any
recommendations, made by the nominating committee, together with such nominations and
recommendations as the Mayor and Council committee may deem appropriate. The Town
Council shall then proceed to fill such vacancy or vacancies by majority vote; provided, that
before taking such vote the Council may further consider the matter and may postpone action for
such a period as a majority of the Council may determine.

(b) Appointments in the fire department below the rank of assistant chief shall be

made as provided by the bylaws of the fire department; but no person so appointed shall enter
upon the discharge of the duties of the rank or grade to which he has been so appointed until
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such appointment has been approved by majority vote of the Town Council.
Cross Reference-Administration, Ch. 2
State law reference-Appointment of chief and other officers, Code of Virginia, §27-13.

(c) The Fire Marshall for the Town shall be appointed by the Town Council as a
volunteer position. The Fire Marshall for the Town shall have all of the powers, duties and
responsibilities as provided for under the Code for the Commonwealth of Virginia, as amended
by the General Assembly from time to time, including those powers set forth in Chapter 3, of
Title 27 of the Code of Virginia.

State law reference-Code of Virginia,§ 27-30

Sec. 6-89. General powers and duties of department.

The fire department shall have all the powers and perform all duties prescribed for it in
this Code and other ordinances and resolutions of the Town Council, and as prescribed for Town
fire departments in the Code of Virginia generally, and especially as prescribed in Code of
Virginia, Title 27, Chapter2, Article 1 (§ 27-6.1 et seq.)

Sec 6-90. General powers, duties and responsibilities of chief.

The chief of the fire department, under the general management and control of the Town
Council through the Mayor, shall be the commanding officer of the fire department and shall
have the powers and perform the duties prescribed for his office by state law, this Code and other
ordinances and resolutions of the Town Council. He shall be responsible for:

1. The administration, training, discipline and morale of the members of the fire
department; and.

2. The maintenance and good care of equipment and apparatus of the fire department
and for the efficient employment of personnel, equipment and apparatus of the
department for the prevention and extinguishment of fires within the Town.

(Code 1975, §Sec 5-37)
State law reference-Powers and duties of fire chief, Code of Virginia, § 27-15.1 et seq.

Sec. 6-91. Powers and duties of assistant chiefs and other officers and members.

Each assistant chief of the fire department shall have such powers and perform such
duties as may be delegated to him by the chief. All officers and members of the department shall
have such powers and perform such duties as may be prescribed for their respective ranks and
grades by the regulations of the department and by their superiors in the chain of command.
(Code 1975, § 5-38)
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Sec. 6-92. Chainof command; obedience to orders.

(a) The chain of command within the fire department shall descend from the chief
through the senior assistant chief and downward through the other officers and firemen in order
of rank and seniority within rank. Subordinates shall have the powers and perform the duties of
their immediate superiors when such superiors are absent or disabled. It shall be unlawful for
any member of the fire department to refuse or fail to comply with any lawful order of his
superior in the chain of command.

(b) Any person who violates subsection (a) shall be fined not more than $100.00.
(Code 1975, § 5-39)

State law reference-Penalty for disobeying officer in command at fire, Code of Virginia,
§ 27-19

Sec. 6-93. Department regulations.

The mayor or committee of the town council designated by the council for such purpose,
in consultation with the chief of the fire department and the president or principal officer of the
volunteer fire department, may from time to time promulgate and amend such regulations for the
fire department, no inconsistent with state law, this Code or other ordinance or resolution of the
town council, as may be deemed appropriate for the government of the fire department or to
implement the provisions of this article. Such regulations shall be in full force and effect when
approved by resolution of the town council and a true copy thereof has been place on file in the
headquarters of the fire department for the inspection and use of the members of the department,
and it shall then be unlawful for any member of the department to violate or fail to comply with
any such approved regulation so filed at department headquarters.

(Code 1975, § 5-40)

Sec. 6-94. Department bylaws.

Pursuant to Code of Virginia, § 27-7, the town council hereby empowers the members of
the fire department to make bylaws to promote the purposes and objectives of the department, no
inconsistent with state law, this Code or other ordinance or resolution of the town council;
provided, that such bylaws shall not become effective until approved by resolution of the town

council.
(Code 1975, § 5-41)

Sec. 6-95. Unauthorized removal of fire apparatus.

It shall be unlawful for any person, without having authority from the mayor, chief of the
fire department or other office of the fire department so to do, to remove any apparatus,
equipment or other property of the fire department from the fire station or other premises where
it is kept for use by the fire department.

(Code 1975, § 5-42)

State law reference-Purchase, maintenance, etc., of equipment, Code of Virginia, § 27-

152
6:13






